Purpose | History | Officers | Conference | Meetings | Committees | Procedures
Atlasing Handbook | Contacts | Published Atlases | NORAC home page

PROCEEDINGS OF THE NORAC SIXTH
BREEDING BIRD ATLAS CONFERENCE

NORAC BUSINESS MEETING AT
SIXTH NORAC CONFERENCE

Cornell University, 11 August 1999

Business Meeting | List of Attendees | Proceedings contents list

BUSINESS MEETING

Meeting called to order by Sally Laughlin, Chair.

In attendance were atlas representatives from

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Kansas
  • Los Angeles County
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Hampshire
  • New York
  • Ontario
  • Pennsylvania
  • Vermont
  • USFWS
  • BirdSource, Cornell Lab and National Audubon
  • USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
  • Cornell Lab of Ornithology

NORAC STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

The NORAC Statement of Purpose was modified to read as follows:

The North American Ornithological Atlas Committee consists of one representative from each of the states, provinces, and counties (in California) involved in conducting or actively planning a breeding bird atlas; representatives of the federal agencies involve in bird censusing in the United States and Canada; individuals most involved in atlasing in the Americas; and editors of the various atlas volumes.

The purpose of NORAC is to facilitate breeding bird atlasing in Americas by:

  • providing guidelines for atlasing standards
  • providing regular means of communication between states and provinces
  • involved in and/or planning atlases

NORAC sponsors conferences on breeding bird atlasing every three to four years. In 1991 the conference was sponsored by the Colorado Breeding Bird Partnership and held in Keystone, Colorado. In 1994, a NORAC conference was held 20 June, prior to the combined AOU, Wilson, Cooper meeting, in Missoula, Montana. In 1999, the conference was held 11 August in Ithaca, New York, prior to the AOU meeting.

Originally recorded as: A NORAC Website is maintained at the American Birding Association site at www.americanbirding.org/NORAC. It contains the full text of the 1990 Handbook for Atlasing American Breeding Birds, a list of published atlases, and the NORAC Directory of Atlas Contacts. Corrections to the list should be sent to Sally Laughlin, NORAC Chair, at laughlin@sover.net or Chan Robbins at Chan_Robbins@usgs.gov.

[Information presented below on the web site and those whom are to be contacted has been updated from the original meeting minutes]

The NORAC Website is now maintained at the Bird Studies Canada site at www.bsc-eoc.org/norac. It contains the full text of the 1990 Handbook for Atlasing American Breeding Birds, a list of published atlases, and the NORAC Directory of Atlas Contacts. Corrections to the list should be sent to Mike Cadman, NORAC co-Chair, at mcadman@uoguelph.ca or Charles Francis at Charles.Francis@ec.gc.ca.

WEBSITE

Thanks to the American Birding Association, NORAC obtained a Website.

FORMER WEBSITE: www.americanbirding.org/NORAC – see above for updated web address.

NORAC HISTORY

Thanks to Sally Sutcliffe’s good memory, the dates in the history were corrected. They will be posted on our Website.

PROCEEDINGS

We will keep minutes on today’s meeting, which will be e-mailed to all attending, and posted on the Website. Carol Foss is taking notes. Everyone who has presented is urged to please give Sally or Carol a copy of their presentation.

OFFICERS

Officers were impressed into duty, with there being an especial lack of enthusiasm for the Chair position. Sally noted that she has done it for 9 years and would be very pleased to have someone take it over. In the end, Mike Cadman of Ontario agreed to co-chair the group. Thus, officers until the next meeting are:

  • Co-chairs: Sally Laughlin (Vermont) and Mike Cadman (Ontario)
  • Vice Chair: Chan Robbins
  • Secretary: Carol Foss (New Hampshire)
  • Organizer of next NORAC Conference: Scott Sutcliffe (Cornell Lab of Ornithology)

NEXT MEETING

Scott Sutcliffe offered to organize the next meeting (the 7th NORAC Conference) in 2002 or 2003 in conjunction with the AFO meeting.


SUBCOMMITTEES

Several of the more difficult issues were referred to Subcommittees, who will develop recommendations for consideration by the full NORAC e-mail list.

The subcommittees are requested to report within a month (before 1 October) on their timeframe for submitting recommendations or alternatives for consideration.

If NORAC can reach a consensus (with one vote for each state, provincial, or county atlas project) on an issue, it will become part of our recommended procedures. If not, the recommendation or alternatives will be posted on our Website as potential approaches.

The Subcommittees who agreed to work on the various issues are:

Core Data Standardization/Central Depository for North American Atlas Data

  • Mike Cadman, Chair
  • Chris Elphick
  • Charles Francis
  • Steve Kelling
  • Bruce Peterjohn
  • Chan Robbins
  • Charles Smith
  • Scott Sutcliffe
  • Joan Walsh
  • Mark Wimer

Recommended Methods for Collection of Abundance Indices

  • Chan Robbins, Chair
  • Dan Brauning
  • Charles Francis
  • Doug Kibbe
  • Rick West

Creating a Handbook on Recommended Atlasing Techniques for Species and Species Groups

  • Carol Foss, Co-chair
  • Hugh Kingery
  • Joan Walsh
  • Rick West, Co-chair

Recommended Methods for Collection of Habitat Data & Recommended Method for Recording Fieldworker Effort will be addressed by the Core Data Subcommittee.

back to top | proceedings contents list


ATTENDANCE AT THE SIXTH NORAC CONFERENCE
at Cornell University, AOU, August 11, 1999

Kathleen S. Anderson
22 Winter Street
Middleboro MA 02346
KAWOLFTRAP@aol.com

Annalaura Averill-Murray
Arizona Game and Fish Dept.
221 West Greenway Road
Phoenix AZ 85023
aaverill@gf.state.az.us

Dan Brauning
61 Windy Lane
Montgomery PA 177525
brauning@csrlink.net

Bill Brown
207 Fernow Hall
Dept. of Natural Resources
Cornell University
Ithaca NY 14853
607/254-5478
wpb1@cornell.edu

Robert Budliger
36 Groesbeck Place
Delmar NY 12054
rbudliger@aol.com

Mike Cadman
Canadian Wildlife Service
75 Farquhar St.
Guelph, Ontario
N1H 3N4
519/826-2094; 519/826-2113 fax
Mike.Cadman@ec.gc.ca

Randy Dettmers
U S Fish and Wildlife Service
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley MA 01035
randy_dettmers@fws.gov

Chris Elphick (Advisor to Nevada BBA)
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
University of Connecticut
75 North Eagleville Road, U-43
Storrs CT 06269
860/486-4547; 860/486-6364 fax
elphick@uconnvm.uconn.edu

Ted Floyd
Coordinator, Nevada Breeding Bird Atlas
Great Basin Bird Observatory
443 Marsh Ave
Reno NV 89509
tedfloyd@ableweb.net
Nevada Atlas: Great Basin Bird Observatory, www.gbbo.org

Carol Foss
26 Penacook St.
Penacook New Hampshire 03303
crfoss@mediaone.net

Charles M. Francis
Senior Scientist, Bird Studies Canada
P O Box 160
Port Rowan, Ontario N0E 1ME
cfrancis@bs-eoc.org

Valerie Freer
Chair of Atlas Steering Committee, Representing NY State’s 2nd Atlas
686 Cape Road
Ellenville NY 12428
vfreer@sullivan.suny.edu

Kimball Garrett
Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County
900 Exposition Blvd.
Los Angeles CA 90007
231/763-3368
kgarrett@nhm.org

Douglas A. Gross
PSO Special Areas Project
RR 1Box 1795
Berwick PA 18603
570-542-2191
dougross@sunlink.net

Steve Kelling
BirdSource Project Leader
Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology
159 Sapsucker Woods Road
Ithaca NY 14850
stk2@cornell.edu

Hugh Kingery
P O Box 584
Frankstown CO 80116
ouzels@juno.com

Douglas P. Kibbe
P O Box 34
Maryland, NY
dpkibbe@dmcom.net

Dan Lambert
27023 Church Hill Road
Vermont Institute of Natural Science
Woodstock VT 05091

Sally Laughlin
P O Box 157
Cambridge VT 05444
laughlin@sover.net

Steve Lewis
US Fish and Wildlife Service
Federal Building, 1 Federal Drive
Fort Snelling MN 55111-4056
612/713-5473
steve_j_lewis@fws.gov

Bob Miller
NYSDEC
Wildlife Resources Center
Delmar NY 12054
rlmiller@gw.dec.state.ny.us

Dan Niven
Illinois Natural History Survey
607 E. Peabody Drive
Champaign IL 61820
217/244-1489
dniven@mail.inhs.uiuc.edu

John Ozard
New York State Dept. of Environmental Conservation
Wildlife Resources Center
108 Game Farm Road
Delmar NY 12054
518/478-3030
jwozard@gw.dec.state.ny.us

Timothy J. O’Connell
Pennsylvania Gap Analysis Project
301 Forest Resources Laboratory
University Park PA 16802
tjo111@psu.edu

Keith Pardieck
USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
12100 Beech Forest Road
Laurel MD 20708-4038
Keith_Pardieck@usgs.gov

Diane Pence
U S Fish and Wildlife Service
300 Westgate Center Drive
Hadley MA 01585
413/253-8577
diane_pence@fws.gov

Bruce Peterjohn
USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
12100 Beech Forest Road
Laurel MD 20708
Bruce_Peterjohn@usgs.gov

Charles R. Smith, Ph.D.
Director, Arnot Teaching and Research Forest
Department of Natural Resources
Fernow Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, 14853-3001, USA
607/255-3219; 607/255-1895 fax
crs6@cornell.edu

Chris Reynolds
Mississippi State University
P O Box 9691
Mississippi State, MS 39762
662/325-2978
creynolds@cfr.msstate.edu

Chris Rimmer
27023 Church Hill Road
Vermont Institute of Natural Science
Woodstock VT 05091
crimmer@vinsweb.org

Chan Robbins
Patuxent Wildlife Resource Center
Laurel MD 20708-4015
Chan Robbins@usgs.gov

Todd Schneider
Georgia Breeding Bird Atlas Project
116 Rum Creek Drive
Forsyth GA 31029
912/994-1438
todd_schneider@mail.dnr.state.ga.us

Gary Skiba
Chair, Colorado Bird Atlas Partnership
Colorado Division of Wildlife
6060 Broadway
Denver CO 80216
303/291-7466

Kimberly Smith
Dept of Biology, Univ. of Arkansas
Fayetteville AR 72701
501/575-3251
kgsmith@comp.uark.edu

Sally Sutcliffe
6300 Waterburg Road
Trumansburg NY 14886
sems1@yahoo.com

Scott Sutcliffe
Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology
159 Sapsucker Woods Road
Ithaca NY 14850
607/254-2424
sas10@cornell.edu

Philip Unitt
San Diego Natural History Museum
P O Box 121390
San Diego CA 92112-1390
birds@sdnhm.org

Joan Walsh
Director of Research, New Jersey Audubon Society
Cape May Bird Observatory
600 Rt 47 North
Cape May Court House NJ 08210
jwalsh@njaudubon (work) dsibley@bellatlantic.net (home)

Richard West
Representing Delaware and Georgia
2898 Rabbit Hill Road
Tallahassee FL 32312
ricklwest@aol.com

James Wilson
MO Dept of Conservation
P O Box 180
Jefferson City MO 65102
wilsojd@mail.conservation.state.mo.us

Mark Wimer
Los Angeles County Breeding Bird Atlas
900 Exposition Bl
Los Angeles, CA 90007
wimer@bcf.usc.edu

Cris Winters
112 Crestview Drive
Valerie NY 12184
518/784-5401
hawkowl@berk.com

John Zimmerman
1046 Blackburn Bluff
Charlottesville VA 22901-0608
Jozimmva@aol.com

COULD NOT ATTEND BUT PARTICIPATED IN ADVANCE

Larry Master
Chief Zoologist
The Nature Conservancy
201 Devonshire St
Boston MA 02110
lmaster@tnc.org

back to top | proceedings contents list


The NORAC website is hosted and maintained by Bird Studies Canada